The Amarnan Kings Book 4: Scarab - Ay by Max Overton (Historical: Ancient Egypt)

(7 reviews)  

5 stars
 4 review(s)
4 stars
 2 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)

Only registered customers are allowed to add review. Please sign in and add your own review!


Most useful first | Newest first  
7 results found
Show results 1 - 7
Elaine for Amazon UK
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarab-Ay - Brilliant!!!, 21 May 2012

This is the fourth book in the series The Amarnan Kings by Max Overton. I eagerly awaited this book, as I absolutely loved the first three. For me, I was not disappointed at all and it was all I hoped it would be. I really really love this type of Ancient Egyptian novels and I will be very sorry indeed when this whole series comes to an end.

I would also like to say a very huge thank you to Max Overton himself, as being the impatient person that I am and wanting this book now, now, now, I couldn't contain myself and emailed Max on his author website email address and Max very kindly kept me informed of when this book would be available and even emailed me to say when it was up on Amazon for sale. So WOW impressed by this thoughtful personal service!!!

The book itself follows on almost seamlessly from the last, Ay is a devious, scheming old man, but his adopted son Nakhkmin becomes even more so. I was shocked by Paramessu and the way he keeps his son from Scarab. I am even getting really cross with old Bashir, keep pushing Dani.

I'll have to wait a bit now for the next book, but can guarantee as soon as it's on Amazon I will be among the first to buy it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
James Ashton (Wales) Amazon Reviewer
Sep 19, 2012
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in Amarna, September 19, 2012

This review is from: The Amarnan Kings Book 4: Scarab - Ay (Kindle Edition)

As an Egyptologist, I did not expect the Scarab series to be factual and I was not wrong. The author has taken the known history of the Amarna Period and clothed it with fascinating tales of the well known characters. I could not find any factual errors except in minor detail. The stories take on a life of their own and the most unlikely scenarios develop (Tutankhamun fighting with Smenkhare to the deaths of both of them, but why not? We don't have evidence to the contrary! Ay takes his conventional role and becomes Pharaoh, marrying Ankesenamun). I could not put these books down (or, at least, my Kindle).

A delightful series by someone who has a deep knowledge of the 18th Dynasty and particularly of Amarna. My best read for a long time.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Cynthia Jokela
Nov 19, 2012
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Series For A Great Price. November 19, 2012

Fans of ancient Egyptian history just don't have many options when it comes to nonfiction or fiction. I'm now about to start book 5 in the Scarab series and I hate for it to end. Not only are these books interesting due to the subject matter, they are well written and researched, and the plot fills in the holes of this particular dynastic history in a convincing manner, especially in using Beketaten to tie all the Pharaohs from Akenaten to Horemheb together. I highly recommend this entire series.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Amazon Reviewer: Mary Lee Starnes "momcatva" (Virginia USA)
Feb 23, 2013
Max Overton has obviously researched Ancient Egypt extensively. I highly recommend this entire series to all who love historical fiction. Can't wait for Book 6!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
By Holly Y (Amazon Verified)
Sep 20, 2013
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!

This entire series was an amazing way of looking at the 18th Dynasty as opposed to what we know from the history books. Why couldn't Smenkhare and Tut have died at the same time? There are so many other "why couldn'ts" and "what ifs". So many times throughout the first five books, and caught myself smiling at the in-depth research and story telling of these "what ifs." I would absolutely recommend this series to anyone who loves ancient Egyptian culture or anyone who loves court intrigue and epic story telling!

This book was my least favorite of the series, but it still got 5 stars from this girl, so "least favorite" doesn't mean a whole lot! I wish more people knew of this series, and give a high five to Overton for placing 6 more books on my "favorite of all time" list. If you love anything Egyptian, read this entire series!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sue Walters (Amazon Verified)
Dec 30, 2013
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow best book so far

The books in the series get better. This is the best so far. Can't wait to download number 5 but must go to bed first as its 6 in the morning
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Miss T. "Book-a-Day Teacher" (Verified Purchase)
May 27, 2014
There are six books in this series, and I would recommend reading them in order so the outer story (archaeologists find Egyptian tomb in unexpected location; consequences ensue; which wraps up in Descendants (#6) and the inner story (the reigns of Kings Ahkenaten (#1), Smenkahre (#2), Tutankhamun (#3), Ay (#4) and Horemheb (#5) ) proceed chronologically and make sense. There are references in the books referring to people or events from previous books in the series, but not to the extent that requires one to read in order.

This book about Ay, the commoner who became pharaoh through devious means, makes it difficult to say one likes it because Ay is such a slimy creep. However, it very clearly explains what happened after the death of young King Tutankhamun. This is a novel, so the main character(s) of inner and outer stories are fictional. What I liked about the series was that it was very easy to read. All of the books have sections in which most of the characters are named, pronunciation given (so one can pronounce it correctly in the mind) and location names identified.

Not a negative comment really, but the books should include a map which pinpoints the cities named in the narrative. It would help with the directions in Egypt. When travelling south, they travel from Lower Egypt to Upper Egypt against the Nile current; when traveling north, they travel from Upper Egypt to Lower Egypt with the Nile's current. The Nile flows north to the delta, so its source is in the south [rather than North as is true with Mississippi River, Danube, etc.] which makes that area Upper because the river begins there. Lower is where the Nile ends up and spreads out into the sea, so that was down to them. Even a small map with dots and city names and the route of the Nile would help.

Whew! I just finished reading all 6 in order and have had to return from Eighteenth Dynasty Egypt. I had the "I wish there were more books in this series" feeling as I progressed towards the endings of #5 and #6. If you are a history nut who loves ancient Egypt, this should be a very enjoyable adventure. Even if all you know of Egypt is the name of King Tut, you too would find the adventure exciting (and might learn some cool facts in the process).
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Only registered customers are allowed to add review. Please sign in and add your own review!
facebook twitter pinterest Google+ Youtube Channel


Best Sellers